« Bad Actors Part 6 - Eurohost LLC (aka UralNet?) | Main | A new method to monetize scareware »

2009.03.16

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d835018afd53ef011168fb2569970c

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Cimbot - A technical analysis:

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Check out http://magnao.com/index.php?post=getting-rid-of-cimbot for more info on how to remove Cimbot.

I have a new undetected version of this malware.
Instead of vazasaki-ji.info , it use atsiguchi.info, but still use referred at lenuw.com devaw.com regexp pattern abowe, and also point to http://sunclicks.com/cgi-bin/reg.cgi?refid=ec0lag

It loaded via service by WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe -k DcomLaunch
I have dump of infected svchost.exe , and several crypted dll. Today NO ONE of the antivirus toolkit has detected it. It is bad.
But I can't locate main loader file or dll.

You can download dump at http://www [dot] djonline [dot] ru /drwebmail [dot] zip

Do you have any idea on how I can remove Cimbot?

I've searched everywhere but I can't find anything. It seems that Cimbot is below the radar of most anti-virus and anti-spyware programs.

Both http://devaw.com and http://lenuw.com appeared as redirection urls on hijacked public Unix servers starting in Late January. There have been thousands of these since last October. They are the actual redirection target used in a rash of "Canadian Pharmacy" (ie: Spamit.biz) spam runs.

The binary you have reverse engineered appears to be somehow related to these Unix server hijacks.

To describe this more explicitly:

- Someone hijacks a unix server with some known exploit.
- The unix server is always running Apache
- The hijacker places an innocuous html file on the hijacked server whose sole purpose is to redirect to the target url used in a pharmacy spam run (ie: http://lenuw.com)
- The hijacked server's domain is used in a Canadian Pharmacy spam run, targeting several million recipients.

Attempts to get these files removed and the hijacked servers secured have met with zero response so far. These are typically abandoned servers.

Canadian Pharmacy as a spam property is supported by the Spamit.biz affiliate program (based in - of course - Russia) and has several ties to the Storm bot, as well as the Russian Business Network (RBN).

I blogged about them here, referring to the more public-facing affiliate program known as Glavmed:

http://ikillspammers.blogspot.com/2009/02/glavmed-open-letter-to-law-enforcement.html

Thought you should know.

SiL / IKS / concerned citizen.

The comments to this entry are closed.